Uncategorized

[Excerpt] Cute Isn’t He?

STORIES: Cute isn’t he? (Lucy’s POV, 9th grade)

I zig zagged up the stair case, trying to find my LA class room. Wonderfully, most of my classes this year were on the second floor, and I had spent 2 years only on the first floor. Great. Supposedly, I am a genius in the LA department, so the board moved me to a 9th grade LA class when I was in 7th. Then in 8th, a 10th grade class. I turned a corner, and I saw him. Matt was slummed against a locker, surrounded by some friends. (3 girls, 2 boys). I stood, and stared at him. I noticed the excitement of being a senior in his eyes, the happiness in his face, the muscles in his arms, and another unfamiliar emotion cloud in his body. I sensed he was more joyous than usual, due to someone  being in his presence. I wondered if it was a girl, or a new friend. Suddenly, my eyes widened. It was me. Matt was happy I was in the same school as him. I didn’t know if I should be happy or scared. However, my thoughts were interrupted by a girl who diligently creeped up behind me.

“Cute, isn’t he?” She observed, her eyes glassy, and staring at Matt. I almost puked.

“Trust me, ew.” I muttered.

“Do you know him?” She asked, with a hint of curiosity toward me.

“He’s my brother.” I answered.

“Oh! I’m sorry!” She apologized, clearly embarrassed. “Please don’t tell him.”

I laughed.

“Of course I won’t tell him! Who would do that?” We laughed together, then introduced ourselves. I learned she was from the neighboring town, and her name was Ciara. She was trying out for basketball and was secretly following my brother. I laughed at that, and she laughed too. Hearing our laughter, Matt turned to face us.

“Hey geek, come here!” He shouted at me. I looked at Ciara, exchanged a ‘see you later’, and walked over to my brother.

Leave a Reply

